Get Notified for Exclusive Deals and Offers
Click Allow to get exclusive deals and offers

Hotel

The Bliss Resorts and Hotels

Funcity Valley view, lovedale Junction, Ooty-643003 Ooty India 643001
View on Map
Hotelier Photos11 Photos
Travellers Photos1 Photos
Close
at
Close
2018, 16 Oct
atThe Bliss Resorts and Hotels
60%Guest recommend this hotel
Manikandan NpImages shown in Goibibo is NOT AT ALL relevant to the place where we stayed! It was said to be a 3 star (or equivalent rated) hotel but I dont seem to..Read All Reviews
₹ 2000
    Sub Total1 room for 1 nightExcludes Taxes
    Login to discover who else travelled to The Bliss Resorts and Hotels
    12:00Check In
    10:00Check Out
    4Rooms
    • Reception
    Your Selection

    Your Cart is empty

    Location

    Ratings & Reviews

    Sort By

    Filter By Category

    All Reviews

    What our guests say

    VH Vinay Hp
    3 /5

    road to this hotel is not good

    Did you find this review helpful? Like(0)

    Manager replied in 29 minutes

    Dear Valued Guest, Greetings for the day. Thank you very much for the feedback you have given us on goibibo portal. It was our pleasure to serve you at The Bliss, Ooty. We will take your feedback in a very positive way and will always strive to improve in all aspects Looking forward to serve you again Thanks in advance Regards, Team Bliss

    SL Subair Lk
    1 /5

    It's a lodge in all the sense. The property/ Management / Service / Food / Amenities. Please avoid unless you are looking for a lodge. Don't go by pictures, rooms would be differen

    + More

    Did you find this review helpful? Like(0)

    Manager replied in 42 minutes

    Dear Valued Guest, Greetings for the day. We would like to help you recall the following that happened during this booking you had made. 1. You have booked a Standard room [ A room with toilet attached ] from Goibibo 2. We had a conversation over phone about the room type and we made it very clear it is a single room with toilet 3. Yes it was mistake to give you a better room and since we agreed for your comfortness you have taken it as an advantage 4. we asked for a difference in tariff and same was agreed by you during that night. Immediately you changed stand next day morning. Rest we can see in this review. 5. You will not be knowing how much we convinced other customer [ who actually booked that room]for our mistake in assigning the room to you and we end by refunding him too 6. We did ask you that refund amount only what we paid to other customer and you ended up paying a lesser amount after negotiations. Inspite of such things you gave us a good justification Thanks for giving us an opportunity to get to know about different styled guests and help us understand what needs to be corrected from our side Thanks again Regards, Team Bliss

    KS Khasim Shariff
    4 /5

    The bliss is new hotel, nice ambience and it is a calm place little bit away from city it is neat and clean l would refer ppl to go there how ever kitchen should have more dishes

    Did you find this review helpful? Like(0)

    Manager replied in 5 hours

    Dear Kashim, Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are working towards improving the food menu and dish varieties at our restaurant. We have already shifted the restaurant to roof top with garden and valley view . During your next visit you will definitely see more options for food and we will strive to better your stay in all possible ways to make it a blissful one Thanks again and we look forward for you again Regards, Team Bliss

    MN Manikandan Np
    3 /5

    Images shown in Goibibo is NOT AT ALL relevant to the place where we stayed! It was said to be a 3 star (or equivalent rated) hotel but I dont seem to be seeing amenities are justi

    + More

    Did you find this review helpful? Like(0)

    Manager replied in a month

    Dear Manikandan, Thank you so much for staying with us. We have one old property and one new property listed here and you have booked on old property which we have removed from portal due to renovation. Your booking was picked before renovation to old property and images you have seen were for the new property on portal. Sorry for the inconvenience caused in this regard. We would like to thank you for your valuable comments added here and we will improve in every aspect going forward. Thanks again Regards, Team Bliss

    Close
    Vinay Hp2016, 18 Apr
    atThe Bliss Resorts And Hotels

    road to this hotel is not good

    Question and Answer

    Sort By

    • Most Relevant
    • Recently Asked
    • Recently Answered

    Filter By Category

    Clear all
    Search Question
    Didn't find your answer? Ask a Question!

    Hotel Policies

    Hotel Policies

    Getting Hotel Policy...

    Loading Price ...
    Logging You In ...
     
    © 2018 ibibogroup All rights reserved